Eat: Best Vietnamese in Hackney

Where: Green Papaya, 191 Mare Street, E8 3QE. 0208 985 5486. www.green-papaya.com

I am actually addicted to Vietnamese food. I eat it at least once a week. I try to convert people to this fresh, spicy, Asian cuisine whenever possible. Even if they say they have tried it before. And I daydream about crispy squid.

I went to Vietnam (my other blog) and actually found the food in London just as delicious (the only difference is that in Vietnam it is fresher).

But, there are only certain restaurants that really live up to that. Green Papaya is my favourite of them. I mainly judge a good Vietnamese on it’s crispy squid. This might actually make Shoreditch’s Cay Tre a damn hopeful runner up, but it is too far to take away.

Annoyingly, none of them deliver, which is a real shame.

The flavours are something similar to other Asian foods, but stands on it’s own as a cuisine. They are resourceful people and will kill, cook and eat anything! I don’t eat meat and Vietnamese gives me more options than any other I know. Seafood, fish and tofu are plentiful!

 

Find it below…

 

Leave a Reply

